top of page
  • Casie Dionne

How Motherhood Has Changed Me


Casie and Story Mother's Day 2020 photo
Casie and Story Mother's Day 2020

Becoming a mom is a life changing event.


Everything you had planned and thought was important prior to your child’s arrival, shifts. You have a new purpose and motivation that drives you.

 

In the week’s leading up to my first Mother’s Day, I spent a lot of time reflecting on all the ways I’ve changed since having my son Story.


I thought long and hard about it, but I had trouble coming up with anything at all. So then, I brought out the big guns and I asked the people who have been closest to me during this time…my parents and my husband.


I thought they would say things like, “Well Casie, the wisdom you have shown is liken to the wisdom of King Solomon” or “The grace you now have is finer than any precious jewel.


But.


They couldn’t come up with anything either.


So my first thought was, ok obviously this is a terrible idea for a blog post, I can’t come up with anything to write because I’m still the same me.


But then the answer came to me like an epiphany.


Motherhood has changed my life, but it hasn’t changed who I am.


I am still the mostly shy, yet fun loving girl who loves to dance and knows all the words to Lil’ Kim’s Crush on You.


I still love a bright colored lipstick and blasting old school music while I’m cooking and cleaning.


My favorite color is still purple and I’d still prefer a burger and fries over a fancy 5 star meal.


Everything I love and everything I was before I added the title Mom to my resume came with me after Story was born.


My DNA, my core, hasn’t changed.


And that's ok, because now I know that who I am is good enough and exactly what Story needs.

 

To the moms, aunties, moms-to-be and all the women who love and nurture our babies, thank you for being exactly who you are. You are enough and that is more than enough.


With Love,


0 comments

Follow:

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page