top of page
  • Casie Dionne

Oh So Ready For Spring


Like many of you, I am beyond ready for Spring. I receive it, I welcome it, I've saved a seat next to me for it.

Even though in NYC the weather hasn't warmed up quite enough to shed layers of clothing, (thank God, because my body is still under construction) spring brings a bright and airy freshness that translates so well with make up. I can give the dark and smoky looks a rest and bring back the light and bright colors.

Quick and easy make up is my philosophy

My philosophy with makeup has changed over the years and I now use make up as an enhancement and not a covering, to highlight my features and not change them. I also want the application process to be quick and easy. Outside of getting ready for a formal event, I have zero desire to spend 3 hours putting on makeup.

So I've been able to whittle down my process to the basics that get me out the door as quick as possible and I still look pretty and put together.

I always start with my brows. I'm not going over that process in this post. But it's simple and takes me less than a minute to complete. Perhaps I can go over that process in a future post.

Next up THE BASE...

THE TOOLS

The base: concealer and setting powder

(Concealers: NARS Amande & Maybelline 35 Deep; Setting Powder: Sacha Buttercup; Real Techniques Setting Brush)

Instead of wearing a full face of foundation, I use concealer and apply it only the areas that I need. I have deep set eyes that can cast dark shadows underneath my eyes and the skin under and on my eyelids is thinner than the rest of my face which can also make around my eyes seem dark.

THE TECHNIQUE

I first apply the NARS concealer that matches my skin tone by swiping it under my eyes extending down just above my cheekbones as well as over my eyelids. I then use my ring finger to blend it out. Next, I apply the lighter colored Maybelline concealer as a brightener on top and blend it out with my finger as well. To help keep it all in place for the long run, I use the setting brush to sweep the setting powder over the concealed areas.

And that's it for my skin!

Now here are 4 easy Spring looks that I will be rocking this season.

1. BURNT ORANGE EYES + NUDE GLOSSY LIPS

THE TOOLS

(Fenty Beauty Match Stix: Rum; Mented Cosmetics Lipgloss: Mauve Over; Loreal Voluminous Mascara: Noir; Stila Eyes Are The Window Mind Palette: Perception - I know it's cracked, it happens to all of us)

THE LOOK

THE TECHNIQUE

Using the eye shadow brush I sweep the color Perception which is burnt orange all over my lid, extending slightly above the crease, outward and also along the lower lash line. I add a light sweep of highlighter above my cheek bones. Then pair those with a nude lip gloss and a couple coats of mascara.

2. PURPLE CAT EYE + PINK GLOSSY LIPS

THE TOOLS

(MAC Eyeshadow Frost: Parfait Amour; NYX Rectractable Waterproof Eyeliner: Purple; NARS Blush: Orgasm; Bare Minerals Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss: Birthday Babe; Loreal Voluminous Mascara: Noir); Angle brush, Blush brush

THE LOOK

THE TECHNIQUE

Line the top lash line with the purple eyeliner and extend it out slightly past the eye. Then dip the angle brush into the eye shadow and press it over the eyeliner to enhance the color. Sweep the pink blush over the cheeks and then top it off with couple coats of mascara and pink gloss.

Pro Tip: When using a creamy kohl eye liner go over top of it with a matching eyeshadow. It sets the liner and helps it not to smudge.

THE LIPS HAVE IT...

3. CASIE LOVES ORANGE LIPSTICK, I DO I DO, I DO-OOOH

THE TOOLS

(Fenty Beauty Mattemoiselle Plush Matte Lipstick: Saw C ; Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon: Clementine)

THE LOOK

THE TECHNIQUE

First of all the color orange on brown skin is so bomb. But these lipsticks by themselves don't work for my skin tone. So what I've done, is start with Saw C, the lighter orange all over the lips then used Clementine which is the brighter bolder orange as a liner. Then I mixed them by pressing my lips together and made the perfect lip duo.

Just about any color is workable, it may just need the assist from another shade.

Pro Tip: Matte Lipsticks can suck moisture out of your lips leaving them dry and flaky. Mix your favorite oil (my favorite is almond oil) with a bit of white sugar in a small container for an inexpensive lip scrub. Use your ring finger which is the gentlest finger to exfoliate the lips. Wash off the residue then seal it with a moisturizing lip balm.

4. NO, THIS IS PINK

THE TOOLS

(MAC Amplified Lipstick: Impassioned)

THE LOOK

When all else fails, nothing looks better than a swipe of a bright pink lip. Nothing else is needed when you let the lips lead.

Pro Tip: It's easy to go overboard with makeup. One way to prevent that is to pick one feature on your face to highlight at a time. Bright eyes or bold lips - not both. With that rule, you'll look beautiful and fresh faced instead of like you were trying too hard.

What are some of your favorite colors and looks for Spring?

0 comments

Follow:

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page