top of page
  • Casie Dionne

5 Woman-Owned Hair & Beauty Products I Love and You Will Too


It's no secret that most of the products that cater to women are owned and made by men.

But some of my absolute, most reached for products come from the ones that intimately know what I need - Women.

So, I've selected 5 of my must-haves and I'm sharing them with you, because I know if you try them, they will become your favorites too.

 

Alikay Naturals

Shea Yogurt Hair Moisturizer

Alikay Naturals Shea Yogurt Hair Moisturizer

Keeping my type 4 hair moisturized is very important, and us naturals know there are levels to this. Steps you have to take to make sure that your hair stays hydrated. I use the Shea Yogurt as the 2nd step in the styling process - directly after I apply my leave-in to seal in the moisture. My hair loves this lemongrass scented product and it has helped my hair to flourish. I started using it about 2 years ago and have not looked back since.

By the way, even though is it's called a moisturizer, it behaves more like an oil and it's the perfect "O" to your LOC (or for me LCO) method.

This and many other products were created by Youtube natural hair guru and beauty boss Rochelle Graham.

Beauty Boss Rochelle Graham-Campbell

Beauty Boss Rochelle Graham-Campbell

Melanin Hair Care

Twist-Elongating Style Cream

Melanin Hair Care Twist-Elongating Cream

The finishing step to my braid outs is this style cream. Now let me warn you, it is a bit pricey, not the product itself - it's only $16.99, but it's another $10 for U.S. shipping, since you can only purchase it online. However, take it from this Frugal Fran, it is totally worth it AND they give you maximum value for the money because the container is 16oz and it's filled to the brim.

Before this product, my braid-outs would quickly turn frizzy once I stepped outside. But this thick, non-greasy cream, keeps my braid outs defined throughout the day. It's actually quite amazing.

And those of you who are sensitive to smells, it's practically scentless - just a very faint scent of cocoa butter.

Melanin Haircare was created by Youtuber and OG natural hair guru Whitney White aka Naptural85.

Melanin Haircare Founder Whitney White

Melanin Haircare Founder Whitney White

Gym Wrap

Gym Wrap

I have been laser focused on my fitness for the past few months, waking up in the morning for 5 am workouts, 5 days a week. And because of my morning sweat sessions, my hair couldn't stand a chance because it ended up soaking wet every time. I was so frustrated. But in true Facebook mind reading fashion, an ad popped up on my feed featuring the gorgeous actress and Gym Wrap creator Nicole Ari Parker, talking about her moisture-wicking bandanas and wraps that save your styles by keeping your hair dry. So, I quickly added them to my cart because I was sold.

Now, they obviously don't prevent you from sweating, but it has dramatically reduced the

sweat left on my hair and scalp and now my hair styles are preserved.

Nicole Ari Parker creator of The Gym Wrap

Nicole Ari Parker creator of The Gym Wrap

Skin Buttr

Body Butter

Skin Buttr body butter

I love bath and body products and I'm always in search of something with natural ingredients that is also effective. Luckily, I stumbled upon Skinbuttr body butter at a holiday pop up shop in NYC. They have an array of scents for whatever you're in the mood for, from unscented all the way to my favorite ginger-lemon, which smells so delicious you're going to want to sneak a taste. But please don't, lol. Plus every body butter has a matching body scrub.

I use this daily and ain't nobody ashy around here, my skin is soft.

All of these products and more from founder Tatiana Price are available online.

Tatiana Price

Tatiana Price

Pat McGrath Labs

Matte-Trance Lipstick

Pat McGrath Labs Matte-Trance Lipstick

Have you heard of the black makeup artist who has created a billion dollar empire? If you haven't, let me introduce you to Pat McGrath. She is basically the godmother of makeup artistry, your favorite makeup artist's, favorite makeup artist.

Her line is luxurious and expensive, so to dip my toe in and try it out, I started with this $38 lipstick but I have no regrets.

It's a highly pigmented long lasting lip color. The formula is soft and sorta powder-like. It wears down evenly and comfortably without drying your lips out. It's basically magic.

The assortment of shades are beautiful whether you like nudes, pinks, reds, whatever you fancy I highly recommend a stop by the Pat McGrath section at your local Sephora.

Legendary Makeup Artist Pat McGrath

Pat McGrath

 

Those are my favorites, but what are some of your favorite woman owned products? Shout them out so we can all support.

0 comments

Follow:

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page